Is coffee a date?

** This blog has moved to myopinionsareimportant.com ** 

My sister Sarah has an ongoing thing at her church, where they ask visiting speakers “Is coffee a date?” (You too can have that much fun if you move to Wodonga.) In other words, if you take a girl out for coffee at a café somewhere, does this constitute a date, or does a date have to be more involved, such as dinner and movie?

Hmmm. Let me ponder this question for a sec.

Sarah, when telling me about this, laughed and said “Of course coffee isn’t a date!” But then when a local bloke asked her for coffee, she refused. Not her type, apparently. Huh?

I have, in the recent past, had a dinner and movie evening with a girl. Was it a date? Certainly didn’t feel like one. On another occasion, I took a girl out for coffee and it definitely felt like a date.

But is it a date when one of the two thinks it is, and the other does not? Or is anything a date, so long as there is a guy and a girl involved?

Enquiring minds want to know.

WANT MORE?: The morbidly curious can read more about my love life at Laughter and romantic false starts and Girl confessions.

About Markk

Markk is an iOS developer.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Is coffee a date?

  1. Pete Aldin says:

    Does Wikipedia have an entry on this? That would settle the issue once and for all.

  2. Pete Aldin says:

    Woo hoo we’ve solved it!

  3. Peter says:

    Coffee is evil.

  4. Markk says:

    Peter, coffee is Good, and you need to repent of insulting the sacred beans.

  5. Pete Aldin says:

    Amen, good Peter. If Jesus was hanging out with his Disciples in 2007 in South-eastern Melbourne, He’d be frequenting many of the fine coffee emporiums that Markk has reviewed for us and imbibing of the bean.

  6. Pete Aldin says:

    I mean, “amen good Markk!” – see? I haven’t had my coffee yet and I am confused. It does us good.

  7. Markk says:

    We could also add that Jesus would order his coffee piping hot, because it is as the Good Book says, “So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.” Rev 3:16

  8. SaRz says:

    Hi. My name is Sarah.

    And I hate coffee.

  9. SaRz says:

    ^ To avoid confusement for readers – not sister Sarah.

  10. Pete Aldin says:

    Sarah, you hate coffee, you love cats. Do you have any redeeming features at all??? :)

  11. Markk says:

    Sarah needs reprogramming …

  12. SaRz says:

    Reprogramming? What am I, some kind of robot?

    Why all my features are redeeming – wit, charm, good looks, intelligence, honesty, integrity, sweet tempered, charisma…

    And let’s not forget:
    Modesty.

  13. Markk says:

    Sarah has wit, charm, good looks, intelligence, charisma.

    She also loves cats and hates coffee.

    She also claims to NOT be the other Sarah, without providing evidence.

    Hmmm …

  14. SaRz says:

    I’ve provided you with my e-mail address, you nutcase =p

  15. a dates not a date till there is any action.!!!!!

  16. mUnchKin says:

    coffee is good. beer is better.

    But i thought prty much ANYthing can be considered a ‘date’ nowadays and not jst between boy and girl either (hello! heard of lesbians? LoL) =)

  17. Markk says:

    “prty much ANYthing can be considered a ‘date’ nowadays ”

    Good point. I think for my next date, I’ll suggest mowing the lawn. I’ll let you know how that goes.

  18. No, Markk, this is a date!

  19. Markk says:

    Er, yep. Moving right along …

  20. Markk says:

    This is probably a bad time to bring up the Australian slang definition for “date” so I’ll let Wikipedia do it for me:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Date

Leave a Reply

