Laughter and romantic false starts

This post is about a girl. We shall call her Beulah. If you’re reading this, Beulah, I wish you well.

Beulah was interested in me. Of that I am quite certain. On one occasion, a friend said “You know, Beulah really likes you” and I thought “Well, duh”. It was that obvious.

The attraction was mutual, but were we really compatible? I wasn’t sure, but after several coffee outings (mostly with other friends, but some without) I decided to throw caution to the wind and just go for it.

Nothing was official yet, but we had been on this path for a few months now, to the point where we were almost boyfriend and girlfriend by default, or so I thought. Time to set up another date, then.

So I sent her a text message. She responded, “I think it would be better if we don’t hang out together too much. I don’t want to give you the wrong idea. I’m sorry.”

Huh? What “wrong idea” might that be? The same idea you have been trying to drill into my head on every occasion for the last four months?

How absurd. How funny.

I’ve seen this happen a few times now. It works like this:

1. Girl X is interested in Boy Y
2. Boy Y, who hadn’t been interested, then becomes interested
3. On noticing this change, Girl X promptly changes her mind

You have to laugh. I know I do.

The alternative is the following:

1. Girl X is interested in Boy Y
2. Boy Y isn’t interested and stays that way
3. Girl X eventually gives up

How does anyone get together?

About Markk

Markk is an iOS developer.
This entry was posted in Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Laughter and romantic false starts

  1. Timsta says:

    Mate…its one of those things! Romance at times Random and at others instant.

    I just say keep your expectations at a platonic level and just focus on the main issue….life! :)

  2. Best Romance i had cost me 80 dollars and i got 45 minutes worth

  3. Remember these words “YOU CAN DO IIIIIIIIIT”

  4. Sounds like your dwelling you know what always cheers me up…. Is Barry Manilow’s Mandy… Such an emotional song.

  5. Sometimes Culture Clubs do you really want to hurt me also

  6. Guido & Markk,
    I’m more of a fan of Garry Glitter’s THE TEARS I CRIED.
    Nothing better than a bit of Mr Glitter to pick you up.

  7. Or The Village People – In The Navy, now that gets me in the mood.

  8. Markk says:

    Haha! Yup the 80s pop does the trick.

  9. Im sorry how bout Air Supplys Makin love outta nothing at all”
    thats a real tear jerker

  10. REO Speedwagon had a couple of goodies….

    ” Take it on the run”
    ” Keep on loving you”

  11. To tell you the truth i had a similar experience.
    This girl called Kelly Kopowski from saved by the bell.
    I was interested in her, she wasnt interested in me
    eventually i gave up…..

  12. Pete says:

    There’s another way this works.

    1. Girl X is not in the least interested in Boy Y
    2. Boy Y becomes interested in Girl X and asks her out.
    3. Girl X responds with an emphatic NO!
    4. Boy Y asks his female friends what he should do.
    5. Boy Y’s female freinds all agree that with a girl, NO means NO – “Girl X is just not into you.”
    6. Boy Y notices Girl Z several months now and asks her out.
    7. Girl Z also responds with a no.
    8. Boy Y gives up.
    9. Girl Z spends nights staring at her mobile phone wondering why Boy Y doesn’t persist. Doesn’t he know that women want to be pursued?
    10. After a few weeks, Girl Z tells Boy Y he is an imbecile (for no discernible reason as far as he can tell)
    11. Boy Y decides to become a Catholic Priest (ie., celibate).

  13. or just bat from the other side

  14. J Dogg says:

    U should have went in for the kill earlier m8 lol.

  15. Markk says:

    Pete I think you’ve hit the nail on the head there.

    My experience has given sister Sarah an idea of how to deal with Boy Z who is interested in her (but she isn’t of course) – say yes to put him off.

    Of course, a better idea is to show excessive interest – “We need to get together and get married and have innumerable children NOW!” That’ll scare anyone away.

  16. Markk says:

    J Dogg – That may well have worked, but ah well.

    Tim – Instant romance eh. Is that anything like instant coffee? I want percolated instead. Mmm, percolation …

  17. SaRz says:

    here i shall insert a forward that was sent to me in an email titled ‘the shortest fairytale in the world:’

    The World’s Shortest Fairy Tale…

    Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl “Will you marry me?” The girl
    said, “NO!” And the girl lived happily ever after and went shopping,

    dancing, camping, drank martinis, always had a clean house, never had
    to cook, did whatever the hell she wanted, never argued, didn’t get
    fat, travelled more, had many lovers, didn’t save money, and had all
    the hot water to herself. She went to the theatre, never watched
    sports, never wore freakin lacy lingerie that went up her butt, had
    high self esteem, never cried or yelled, felt and looked fabulous in
    sweat pants, and burped, swore, and farted all the time.

    THE END.

  18. Markk says:

    Yup, it’s a fairy tale alright.

    “burped, swore, and farted all the time” – so she lives in Cranbourne, then

  19. Pingback: Is coffee a date? « My Opinions Are Important

Leave a Reply

